header desktop logoo
header mobile logo

CEU Names Loyal Employees and Alumni

24 October 2022

Photo shows (from L-R) Judge Rowena Nieves Tan, Vice Executive Judge of the Regional Trial Court Branch 118, Pasay City and CEU Girls High School Alumna, General Secondary Course in 1982, Dr. Teresa R. Perez, Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and 40-year Service Awardee, Dr. Olivia Limuaco, Vice President,  CEU Makati and 45-year Service Awardee with Dr. Ma. Cristina Padolina, CEU President and Chief Academic Officer


Centro Escolar University’s present-day exemplars of loyalty who have served the University for 45, 40, 35, 30, 25, 20 and 15 years were recognized during the recent Loyalty Awards Day held at the CEU Librada Avelino Auditorium with live streaming on its official Facebook and Youtube accounts.   


In the test of time and difficulties, teaching and non-teaching employees have proven their loyalty in years and service. Thirty parent-alumni also have manifested in them allegiance to the University for choosing CEU to be their children’s home for tertiary learning.


“Today, we celebrate another CEU tradition, this time to recognize and give credit to loyalty and service. Today, we honor those who have put their faith in CEU as an institution of higher learning,” said Dr. Ma. Cristina Padolina in her welcome message as she believes that the angels from the “Acknowledgment Section” will be busy receiving messages of appreciation since it is CEU Loyalty Day.


September 11 set as the CEU Loyalty Day is the birth anniversary of Dr. Concepcion Aguila, CEU’s icon of fidelity who served as Dean of the Graduate School, Dean of the College of Education, Moderator of Extracurricular Activities, and Executive Director. This year, September 11 falls on a Sunday, moving the celebration to September 12.


With the longest years in service, Dr. Olivia M. Limuaco, Vice President for CEU Makati delivered her heartfelt message as the lone 45-year service awardee.


“These figures are not just numbers for me, but milestones that surely make me smile, every time I take a trip down memory lane. To all the people whom I had the opportunity to work with for 45 years, my heartfelt gratitude to all of you. The times we shared, the friendship we developed and the incredible successes we achieved,” said Dr. Limuaco.


The 40-year Service Awardees include Dr. Elena C. Borromeo, Ms. Rosario P. Caudal, Dr. Felipe Wilfredo M. Espineli, Ms. Aleli V. Lozano, Dr. Teresa R. Perez, and Mrs. Emelda J. Rivera.


Recipients of the 35-year Service Awards are Dr. Epifanio M. Abarro, Jr., Mrs. Cirila H. Agno, Ms. Maria Hidelisa B. Apostol, Dr. Rosemarievic A. Bustamante, Mrs. Edna C. Guerrero, Dr. Maria Wanda I. Martinez, Dr. Consuelo C. Reyes, Mrs. Nelia PL. Sapocon, Mrs. Cynthia SD. Sarmiento, Mrs. Shiela Fidelia F. Sevilla, and Dr. Elvira L. Urgel.


For 30 years of service, the awardees are Dr. Alden M. Aguilar, Dr. Marissa D. Aguilar, Dr. Ma. Adalia P. Amoyo, Mrs. Maria Hedley A. Basco, Dr. Peter Y. Bonilla, Dr. Maria Luisa R. Clemente, Dr. Flordeliza E. Coquia, Dr. Nadine D. Duad, Dr. Fresnida D. Ebreo, Dr. Jim L. Fernandez, Dr. Frederick J. Guanzon, Dr. Joann F. Joven, Dr. Fides F. Masanga, Ms. Carmiluz C. Melo, Mr. Ricardo M. Pineda, Jr. , Ms. Jessica B. Santos, Ms. Ruth R. Santos, Dr. Antonio E. Sarmiento, Mr. Banjo D. Serrano, Dr. Marie Elizabeth Y. Solidum, Mr. Lamberto J. Tobias, Dr. Marlene C. Torres, and Mr. Daniel S. Villanueva.


Mr. Noel V. Aguilar, Dr. Vivian C. Carlos, Mr. Julius D. Cortez, Ms. Laura T. Crisostomo, Dr. Irene L. Cruz, Mrs. Leslie Mae A. De Ramos, Mrs. Juanita G. Flores, Mrs. Maricel S. Gabriel, Mr. Richard S. Guevarra, Mr. Apolinario E. Laxamana, Mr. Jaime L. Lopez, Mrs. Roselle E. Lopez, Mrs. Aida L. Mamorno, Mrs. Melanie E. Mijares, Mrs. Eleanor C. Reyes, Dr. Cresencia M. Santos, Mrs. Vivian C. Tobias, and Mr. Til C. Villa have served the university for 25 years.


Mrs. Maan Rose T. Bartolome, Ms. Rowena P. Malig and Mr. Noel T. Panganiban were recognized for their 20 years of service.


The 15 years of service of Mr. Rouella M. Baluyut, Mr. Jean Paul G. Bundalian, Ms. Enicar B. Caga, Mr. Michael G. Catacutan, Mr. Eugene Marc D. Cera, III, Mr. Joey O. Chua, Mrs. Maria Victoria S. Coloma, Mrs. Marian Gigi C. Cusi, Mr. Arnel A. De Guia, Mr. Edward P. Ogayre, Mr. Joener A. Porras, Ms. Richel D. Punzalan, Ms. Charmaine M. Sanchez, and Ms. Jean Marie I. Villanueva were also acknowledged.


Apart from the service and parent-alumni awardees, the Sampaguita recipients, Dr. Olivia Limuaco and Dr. Teresa Perez, Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs were presented plaque of recognition.


Judge Rowena Nieves Tan, Vice Executive Judge of the Regional Trial Court Branch 118, Pasay City and graduate of the CEU Girls High School, General Secondary Course in 1982 who was described as a “daisy (a flower symbol of loyalty) among Escolarians” by Dr. Paz I. Lucido, CEU Alumni Foundation, Inc. (CEU-AFI) President, graced the event as the guest speaker.


“Being here 40 years later is like walking down memory lane. To be in the campus, brings back a lot of beautiful and wonderful memories of my high school life in CEU. High School in CEU was one of the best years of my life. I met brilliant and competent teachers who taught us well and inspired us to become better versions of ourselves,” delightfully shared by Judge Nieves Tan.


“You might think that the work that you do over and over again in the past several years and decades isn’t significant. You might not see the results immediately. There might have been times when you questioned the meaning of what you are doing. You might have been tempted to work abroad in search of a better life. But you persevered. And for that, we salute you and celebrate you. CEU will not have the graduates that it now has if it were not for your hard work and sacrifices, for your perseverance and loyalty”, she added.


She also paid tribute to Dr. Aguila whom she considered as “an inspiration, a woman worth emulating” for her loyalty, patriotism and her life of service to the Filipino people and to the world.


This annual gathering was made possible through the steering of the Overall Chairmen, Dr. Paz I. Lucido, President, CEU Alumni Foundation, Inc. (CEU-AFI) and Dr. Rhoda Aguilar, University Registrar with the Overall Co-Chairmen, Ms. Ma. Modesto M. Mercado, and Ms. Eleonor I. Manalo; and the Program Director was Prof. Angelito Ayran, Jr.


For more information about CEU, please visit the official website of the University at www.ceu.edu.ph. You may also follow CEU on Facebook at @theCEUofficial, @CEUMalolosofficial, @CEUMakati05; on Twitter at @CEUmanila, @CEU_makati05, and @CEUMalolos; on Instagram at @ceuofficial; and on Youtube @CEUofficial.









footer desktop logo
footer mobile logo